Genesis 1-2

Genesis 2:3

_so-god-blessed-the-seventh-day-and-made-it-holy-because-on-it-god-rested-from-all-his-work-that-he-had-done-in-creation-_

“So God blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it God rested from all his work that he had done in creation.”

God’s rest isn’t a break from work. He is still upholding the universe, watching over His creation every moment everywhere. His rest tells us about His immanence or how He dwells in this earth He created. Similarly, our sabbath is not simply about a respite from physical toil, but about re-centering in God’s creation and recognizing that He is in control.

Life is full of difficulties and questions that require prayer and subsequent action, but it is important to remember that God is ultimately in control. I don’t need to know the plan for the rest of my life, nor do I need (or should I attempt to) control the people and circumstances in my life. I don’t need an itinerary. As long as I am seeking the Lord with my days and in each decision, I can rest in His sovereignty.

Lord, help me to remember that You created this world and shaped everything in it. You are present in my circumstances. Help me to find rest in Your immanence, knowing that all things work together for Your glory, and ultimately, for my good.

This Week’s Reading Schedule:

1/9: Genesis 1-2

1/10: Genesis 3-4

1/11: Genesis 6-7

1/12: Genesis 8-9

1/13: Job 1-2

Leave a Reply

