Job 1-2

Job 1:21

_and-he-said-naked-i-came-from-my-mothers-womb-and-naked-shall-i-return-the-lord-gave-and-the-lord-has-taken-away-blessed-be-the-name-of-the-lord-_-job-1_21

“And he said, ‘Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return. The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.'”

In the midst of great loss and suffering, Job recognized that all of the good things in his life, which he had just lost, were all gifts from God; he didn’t deserve any of them. Understanding this enabled Job to worship God for the blessings he still had in life and those which he had lost.

Our response to loss is often self-pity and a lapse of faith. It is easy to question how God could take away when we view ourselves as blameless bystanders, not realizing that we’ve done nothing (and can do nothing) to merit the initial blessing. From there, we question how a good God would allow such things to happen. Instead, our focus needs to be on God’s goodness. When we see God as good, we realize, like Job, how everything we have is a gift and how God has provided for us in so many tangible ways. We are not entitled to anything that we possess in this life.

Lord, create in me a heart of gratitude. Help me to recognize the blessings You’ve given to me and to praise You for who You are- not what my circumstances suggest or how they make me feel.

What stuck out to you in these first chapters of Job? How does this story challenge your understanding of God’s character and His involvement in our lives? Please comment below!

Next Week’s Reading Schedule:

1/16: Job 38-39

1/17: Job 40-42

1/18: Genesis 11-12

1/19: Genesis 15

1/20: Genesis 16-17

2 thoughts on “Job 1-2

  1. Hey, I just wanted to let you know I’m unsubscribing because it’s too many emails for me now. I’m more interested in book reviews. I’ll unsubscribe now, but feel free to email me if you’re doing something different in the future. Hope writing is going well!

    On Fri, Jan 13, 2017 at 7:06 AM, Kelsey Messner wrote:

    > kelseymessner posted: “Job 1:21 “And he said, ‘Naked I came from my > mother’s womb, and naked shall I return. The Lord gave, and the Lord has > taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.'” In the midst of great loss > and suffering, Job recognized that all of the good things in” >

    Like

    1. kelseymessner

      Ella, thanks for letting me know! You can manage your subscription through WordPress so that that you only receive a weekly email, however, I understand if you are not interested in receiving devotional content. Thanks for the well wishes- I hope your writing is going well, too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

