Genesis 31-32

Genesis 32:9-10

_o-god-of-my-father-abraham-and-god-of-my-father-isaac-i-am-not-worthy-of-the-least-of-all-the-deeds-of-steadfast-love-and-all-the-faithfulness-you-have-shown-to-your-servant-_genesis-32_9-10

“O God of my father Abraham and God of my father Isaac, I am not worthy of the least of all the deeds of steadfast love and all the faithfulness you have shown to your servant.”

In this passage, Jacob praises God for His provision and requests protection when he encounters Esau. He recognizes that he has done nothing to merit God’s favor, but he also remembers how God has been faithful to his ancestors.

In sharp contrast, entitlement is rife in our modern culture. We think that we deserve the best for no particular reason and that when something doesn’t go our way we’ve been wronged. We fail to recognize our dependence on God and all the blessings He has given us. Perhaps even worse than this, we are servants to our gratification rather than servants of God. Like Jacob, we must acknowledge that we don’t deserve God’s blessings and give Him praise

Lord, help me to stop to thank You for what You’ve done for me before asking for more. Help me to recognize that I don’t deserve anything, but that all I have is Yours.

This Week’s Reading Schedule:

1/30: Genesis 27-28

1/31: Genesis29-30:24

2/1: Genesis 31-32

2/2: Genesis 33 & 35

2/3: Genesis 37

Leave a Reply

