Genesis 46-47

Genesis 46:3-4

_Then he said, 'I am God, the God of your father. Do not be afraid to go down to Egypt, for there I will make you into a great nation. I myself will go down with you to Egypt, and I will also bring you up again._ Gen.png

“Then he said, ‘I am God, the God of your father. Do not be afraid to go down to Egypt, for there I will make you into a great nation. I myself will go down with you to Egypt, and I will also bring you up again.”

Jacob seeks God’s wisdom regarding the voyage to Egypt. God responds by not only promising to make a great nation from him there, but also to go with him.

So often we try to find solutions to our problems and concerns without even consulting God. From our limited perspective, it is difficult- if not impossible- to make good decisions. We neglect one of the greatest gifts in life: God’s guiding presence. We have the Holy Spirit within steering our thoughts and convictions if we allow Him to take control. Yet for some reason, we choose to trust our instincts and miss out on opportunities.

Thank You for Your guiding presence, Holy Spirit. Help me to tune into Your leading and to recognize Your power.

Next Week’s Reading Schedule:

2/6: Genesis 48-49

2/7: Genesis 50-Exodus 1

2/8: Exodus 2-3

2/9: Exodus 4-5

2/10: Exodus 6-7

Leave a Reply

