Genesis 3-4

Genesis 3:12

_the-man-said-the-woman-whom-you-gave-to-be-with-me-she-gave-me-fruit-of-the-tree-and-i-ate-_-genesis-3_12

“The man said, ‘The woman whom you gave to be with me, she gave me fruit of the tree, and I ate.'”

When confronted with his sin, Adam’s response was to shift the blame off of himself. He blames Eve for giving him the fruit and then God for giving him the woman who caused him to sin.

Mankind is quick to blame others for its sins, errors, and circumstances. We see ourselves as blameless and think that anything we do wrong is because of someone else- either their direct decisions or their influence. Similarly, we blame God for the circumstances we find ourselves in and let ourselves believe that our actions stem directly from our situation rather than our selfish human hearts.

Lord, help me to recognize my shortcomings and to call on Your mercy for forgiveness. Help me to recognize my humanity- my freewill and my ability to control my actions. You are sovereign over the events in my life but that doesn’t mean You are to blame for what I do in this life. You’ve graciously given these days to me, and I seek to honor You with them.

 

 

 

This Week’s Reading Schedule:

1/9: Genesis 1-2

1/10: Genesis 3-4

1/11: Genesis 6-7

1/12: Genesis 8-9

1/13: Job 1-2

Leave a comment